She Has Color!

Letting Go

I tried my hand at sketching another portrait while at the same time trying to find my own whimsical style.  I’m not quite there.  I think it’s because the shapes happen rather by accident or perhaps it is that they come together rather by accident.  So, I don’t know if I could look at something and say, that’s my style.  I’m sure as future drawings come to life I will see similarities in those and the earlier one’s I’ve produced.   Or perhaps that’s a fallacy of thought and there won’t be anything remotely the same.  I don’t care; I’m enjoying the journey! 

This first lovely lady is done in graphite pencil and you’ll notice she’s quite a bit more heavily shaded than my first graphite drawing.  I was trying not to be fearful in ruining her.  I’m noticing that happens when I’m drawing.  I get to a point where I say, “It’s good enough.  Don’t add another line because if it’s wrong you’ll ruin it!  And look at all the work you’ve done!!”  Well, that would be my critical self talking and she needs to stick a sock in it.  I’m trying to let my inner child out who has been stuck in the cupboard under the stairs.  We all know the wondrous world discovered and the potential for magical happenings once that kid is let out.   She’s banging on the door pleading to be let out!  She’s so cute and precious and full of love.  Let her out into the sunshine for goodness sake!! 

Painted and Ready

So, letting her out lead me to the second part: painting.  It was a hard process.  The frustration I had when each line or color didn’t match what I saw on the tutorial was agonizing at times.  That’s when I realized critical self was sticking her nose into the mailbox slot and yelling out her opinions (you see, because at this time, I’ve already evicted her and she hasn’t quite gotten the hint).  I have to say though that I’m really quite pleased with the final piece.  I can look at it and say, I did that and be happy.  I can’t wait to see what the future holds for my artwork.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 09:39:43

    If this is your beginnings I cannot wait to see when you have more under your belt. Beautiful! I love the purple hair with the complexion you gave her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

