My First Painting

10 Year Anniversary

This is a mixed media painting that I have just finished today.  I made it for my husband for our 10-year anniversary.  I know that I have a lot to learn in terms of art, but it was a lot of fun to make.  And my husband has been so supportive.  When I first started on it I was really into it and before I knew it more than 4 hours had past.  Yes, it took me FOUR hours because I was trying to get the detail on the face and the proportions on the body correct.  It didn’t work out how I intended.  For example, I was trying to get her in a cetain pose with her hip jutted up (is that even a word?) and her leg back.  It ended up looking as if she’s walking and her legs are somehow not long enough.

I used a part of a tissue wrapping my husband gave me in a gift as part of the painting (it’s in the tree).  For my next painting I think I might cover an entire board.  I really like the dimensional effect it gives when you’re looking at it live. 

Notice the hearts…yep that’s part of the dream.

 
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Randee
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 07:30:55

    Love the hearts you incorporated into here, very subtle, but gives meaning to the reason behind this piece. I see her floating in her contentment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

