My First Portrait

Drawing a Face 1st AttemptI just ordered a tutorial on DVD from willowing.org called Fabulous Faces.  It’s a tutorial on how to draw faces in three different poses and in a few different mediums.  This is the first drawing I did.  I can see places that need a little bit more shading to blend.  The eyes look very serene.  I didn’t mean for that to happen.  I didn’t draw enough of the pupil so she looks dreamy eyed.  The style doesn’t look very realistic but it’s not meant to.  I’m sure I could use the techniques taught to learn to draw more realistic portraits, but that really isn’t my goal.

It’s really very satisfactory to produce this when I had no idea how to do anything at all.  The bonus about doing this is the instructor on the DVD and the people on the site are all really very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

